Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin Spine Center: university expertise in the treatment of spine diseases

Dear patient,


Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin is the only institution in Germany to combine three level 1 certificates of the German Spine Society (DWG) into one Charité-wide Spine Center, thus covering the entire spectrum of diagnostics and therapy of spinal diseases at the highest level. In our Spine Center, several clinics work together in an interdisciplinary manner and across locations.


We guarantee that you will be treated at every Charité location according to the highest medical standards, the latest scientific findings and with the most modern technology.


Trust in the many years of experience of our spine specialists. Over 7,000 outpatient and 3,000 inpatient patient contacts speak for themselves.

Which clinics are involved in the Charité Spine Center?

Spinal medicine at university level combines different disciplines: the Center for Musculoskeletal Surgery, the Center for Internal Medicine and Dermatology in the department of Psychosomatic Medicine, the Center for Orthopedics and Trauma Surgery and the Department of Neurosurgery with Pediatric Surgery.

What distinguishes the Charité Spine Center?

Our goal is your health. To achieve this, we focus on four important factors:

1. Interdisciplinary Cooperation - particularly complex cases are discussed in a regular interdisciplinary and cross-campus case conference in order to define the best individual treatment path.

2. Quality Measurement - After an inpatient treatment in our clinic, we want to make sure that we have been able to help you in the long term. To this end, we regularly send you questions about your health and well-being. This information helps us to constantly improve our range of therapies and to tailor them to the individual patient.

 3. Common Standards - Different departments have different approaches. The goal of the Charité Spine Center is to develop and establish common standards in the treatment of spinal diseases so that you as a patient receive the best possible treatment everywhere.

 4. Excellence - We promote the development of expertise in the field of spinal surgery through research and continuing education. Currently, the doctors at our Spine Center have already been awarded 6 master certificates and one Excellence certificate by the German Spine Society (DWG).

What treatments does the Charité Spine Center offer?

As one of the largest university hospitals we offer a very broad range of treatments. On the following homepage you will find an overview: https://wirbelsaeulenzentrum.charite.de/leistungsspektrum/

Center with certificate

The adherence to the highest quality standards, the presence of structural features (medical equipment), interdisciplinary cooperation, but also the fulfilment of minimum case numbers for both surgical and conservative spinal therapy are characteristics of certified spine centres of the German Spine Society (DWG). The Charité received the highest award at all three locations:

Team des Wirbelsäulenzentrums: (v.l.) Prof. Ertel, Prof. Rose, Prof. Putzier, Prof. Vajkoczy, Foto: Charité/Gudath

Wirbelsäulenzentrum der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin: universitäre Kompetenz zur Behandlung von Wirbelsäulenerkrankungen

Zentrumsstruktur
Struktur des Wirbelsäulenzentrums

Lieber Patient, Liebe Patientin,

als einzige Einrichtung in Deutschland vereint die CharitéUniversitätsmedizin Berlin gleich drei Level-1-Zertifikate der Deutschen Wirbelsäulengesellschaft (DWG) zu einem Charité-weiten Wirbelsäulenzentrum und deckt damit das gesamte Spektrum der Diagnostik und Therapie von Wirbelsäulenerkrankungen auf höchstem Niveau ab. Im Wirbelsäulenzentrum arbeiten mehrere Kliniken interdisziplinär und über Standorte hinweg in einem Zentrum zusammen.

Sie haben die Gewähr, an jedem Charité-Standort nach höchstem medizinischen Standard, aktuellen wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen und mit modernster Technik behandelt zu werden.

Vertrauen Sie auf die jahrelange Erfahrung unserer Wirbelsäulenspezialisten. Über 7.000 ambulante und 3.000 stationäre Patientenkontakte sprechen für sich.

Welche Klinken sind am Wirbelsäulenzentrum der Charité beteiligt?

Wirbelsäulenmedizin auf universitärem Niveau verbindet unterschiedliche Fachbereiche: Die Charité-Klinik für Unfall- und Wiederherstellungschirurgie, die Klinik für Neurochirurgie mit Arbeitsbereich Pädiatrische Neurochirurgie, das Centrum für Muskuloskeletale Chirurgie sowie die Medizinische Klinik mit Schwerpunkt Psychosomatik.

Was zeichnet das Wirbelsäulenzentrum der Charité aus?

Unser Ziel ist Ihre Gesundheit. Dafür fokussieren wir uns im Wirbelsäulenzentrum auf vier wichtige Faktoren:

  1. Interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit – In regelmäßigen fach- und campusübergreifenden Fallkonferenzen werden besonders komplexe Fälle besprochen, um den individuell für den Patienten besten Behandlungsweg zu definieren.
  2. Qualitätsmessung - Nach einer stationären Behandlung in unserem Haus möchten wir sicherstellen, dass wir Ihnen nachhaltig helfen konnten. Dafür befragen wir Sie regelmäßige zu Ihrer Gesundheit und Ihrem Wohlbefinden. Die Informationen helfen uns, unser Therapieangebot stetig zu verbessern und individuell auf den Patienten abzustimmen.
  3. Gemeinsame Standards – Unterschiedliche Fachbereiche haben unterschiedliche Ansätze. Ziel des Wirbelsäulenzentrums der Charité ist es, gemeinsame Standards in der Behandlung von Wirbelsäulenerkrankungen zu erarbeiten und festzulegen, so dass Sie als Patient überall die bestmögliche Behandlung erfahren.
  4. Excellence – Wir fördern den Aufbau von Expertise im Bereich der Wirbelsäulenchirurgie durch Forschung und Weiterbildung. Aktuell wurden an die Ärztinnen und Ärzte des Wirbelsäulenzentrums bereits 6 Master-Zertifikate und ein Excellence Zertifikat der DWG verliehen.

Welche Behandlungen bietet das Wirbelsäulenzentrum der Charité an?

Als eine der größten Universitätskliniken in Deutschland bietet die Charité ein sehr breites Behandlungsspektrum an. Auf der folgenden Seite finden Sie eine Übersicht: https://wirbelsaeulenzentrum.charite.de/leistungsspektrum/

Zentrum mit Zertifikat

Die Einhaltung höchster Qualitätsstandards, das Vorhandensein von Strukturmerkmalen (medizinische Ausstattung), die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit, aber auch das Erfüllen von Mindestfallzahlen für die operative als auch konservative Wirbelsäulentherapie sind Merkmale zertifizierter Wirbelsäulenzentren der Deutschen Wirbelsäulengesellschaft (DWG). Die Charité konnte gleich an allen drei Standorten die höchste Auszeichnung erhalten: